New This Month

15 New Takes on the Traditional Wedding Dress

Want to make a statement down the aisle? We found the looks that will help you do just that.

Advertisement
Advertisement

Few things in life make your breath catch and your heart stop. There's the moment you realize you're in love. The sight of a majestic vista. The feeling of slipping into a wedding dress that turns you into a bride. Each ensemble here, shown against the windswept dunes of the White Sands National Monument, has the power to stun on sight. And on your wedding day, so will you. 


 
What makes these wedding dresses so spectacular? It's all about the details—some small, others larger than life. From gowns in shades of blush and lavender to those with brazenly bejeweled bodices or rule-breaker cut-outs, the following wedding dresses are perfect for the new-age bride. So if you're searching something that feels like the midpoint between the traditional and the contemporary, we've found your answer. It's one of these eye-catching creations. Bold and soft, trendy and timeless, and, most importantly, one of a kind, these wedding dresses are sure to leave a lasting impression on your guests.

 

Pink Lady: First a murmur, then a collective gasp—that's the sound you'll hear as you glide down the aisle in Alyne by Rita Vinieris's aptly named "Brilliant" dress. Is it the rosy lavender color, the soft ruched bodice flowing into a sweeping skirt, or your leg peeking through the sophisticated slit? We think it's all of the above.

 

The Details: Alyne by Rita Vinieris "Brilliant" Dress, $2,425, alynebridal.com. Ileana Makri "Deco Escape" Gold-and-Diamond Earrings, $14,415, ileanamakri.com. Lizzie Mandler 18k White-Gold Diamond Ring, price upon request, lizziemandler.com.

Take the Plunge

There's a drop-dead gorgeous V-neck dress for every style of bride. If you're a glitz and glam kind of girl, you'll love the the luxe fabric and slinky shape of this Liancarlo matte-crepe sheath seen on the left. Are you more of an iconoclast who wants to strut her stuff? Sachin & Babi's floral jacquard coatdress, seen right, with matching cigarette pants, suits all your high-fashion needs.


 
The Details: Sachin & Babi "Esperanza" Coatdress with Cigarette Pants, $3,995, sachinandbabi.com. Alexandre Birman "Eloise" Platform Sandals, in Black Suede, $695, nordstrom.com. Liancarlo "6892" Matte-Crepe Sheath Dress, $3,095, liancarlo.com. Elizabeth Locke Turquoise Scarab Ring, $2,975, neimanmarcus.com.

Black Out

An illusion cut-out and floral appliqué bodice are highlights of this Angel Sanchez crepe beauty, but the real drama comes from the color—black is the new white, popping up all over bridal runways this season. 
 

The Details: Angel Sanchez Crepe Gown, $4,840, angelsanchezusa.com. SheBee XL Oval Diamond Hoops, $2,600; and 14k White-Gold Ball Ring, $1,690, shebee.com. A.Jaffe East/West Platinum Engagement Ring, $2,390 (not including center stone), ajaffe.com.

Give the Bold Shoulder

Upgrade the off-the-shoulder silhouette (a timeless look, gaurenteed to turn heads!) with a textured silk-charmeuse cape by Oleg Cassini, left. Shrug it on as the night cools or during toast-time, when you're no longer warm and flushed from dancing. On the right? Those are not your grandmother's pearls. Instead of collarbones, adorn your shoulders in layers upon layers of small opalescent beads for a classic, but singular vibe.

 

The Details: Oleg Cassini Cape, $4,296, olegcassini.com. Lela Rose "The Windsor" Gown, $5,995, lelarose.com.

Peplum Pop

With a charming sweeheart neckline, seaquined fabric, and a tea-length hem, this Naeem Khan number balances structural elements, glitz, and texture with ease. Without a doubt, though, the eye goes straight to that flirty peplum, which brings this already-feminine gown to the next level.

 

The Details: Naeem Khan "Dover" Gown, $15,995, bergdorfgoodman.com. Jennifer Fisher "Samira" Hoops, $650, jenniferfisherjewelry.com. Laura Preshong "Charlotte" Brilliant-Cut Engagement Ring, $1,875 (not including center stone), laurapreshong.com. Stuart Weitzman "Nudist" Sandals, in Black, $415, stuartweitzman.com.

Turn the Aisle into a Red Carpet

The right details can make a wedding-day ensemble as atmospheric and iconic as a classic movie. Kelly Faetanini's "Portia," seen at left, pairs a long-sleeved black Chantilly-lace top with an ivory silk stretch-satin skirt—a classic red carpet duo made brand new down the aisle. Now all you need is a red lip. Sweeping ruffles, a high neck, and a trailing black bow give Vera Wang's "Claire" gown, on the right, the sweet-meets-chic vibe of Audrey Hepburn in Sabrina
 
 

The Details: Kelly Faetanini "Portia" Gown (also available in all ivory), $2,675, kellyfaetanini.com. Amrapali "Jaipur" Tourmaline Earrings, $8,655, legendamrapali.com. David Yurman "Unity" Platinum Engagement Ring, price upon request, davidyurman.com. Vera Wang "Claire" Gown, price upon request, verawang.com. Mateo New York Graduated-Pearl Hoop Earrings, $1,550, mateonewyork.com.

Go Over the Top

Reem Acra's silk-georgette number looks like a grand ball gown—but is really a black turtleneck dress with crystal-studded sleeves and a second-skin fit under a billowing overskirt, a combination more drama-queen than fairy-princess.

 

The Details: Reem Acra Turtleneck Gown, price upon request, reemacra.com. Tacori "RoyalT" Diamond-and-Platinum Ring, $7,990 (not including center stone), tacori.com.

Shimmer and Shine

On the left, Jenny Packham's ensemble brings magic-hour raidance, thanks to the pearls, sequins, and beads of its ornate top. Those details find a perfect match in stream-lined, menswear-inspired trousers. Carolina Herrera's "Fabienne" gown, seen at right, gets its luster from the sheen of double-faced satin falling from eye-catching black straps (which also come in ivory). When the sun hits the dress, it glows almost as much as the bride wearing it.
 

The Details: Jenny Packham Top, $4,200; and Pants, $1,065, jennypackham.com. Laura Preshong "Jenny" Diamond Baguette Halo Ring, $2,845 (not including center stone), laurapreshong.com. Carolina Herrera "Fabienne" Gown, $7,490, carolinaherrera.com.

Get Geometric

Dilemma: You want a wedding dress that's timeless but also modern. Solution: a classic silhouette reimagined with stunning twists. Atelier Pronovias's crepe gown updates the sheath with a bateau neckline and sheer tulle geometric peekaboo side panels.

 

The Details: Atelier Pronovias "Renace" Gown, price upon request, pronovias.com. By Boe "Mega-Swaying Arches" 14k Gold and Oxidized Sterling Silver Earrings, $300, byboe.com. Lizzie Mandler 18k Rose-Gold Diamond Ring, price upon request, lizziemandler.com.

Take a Spin

Your taste in clothes has evolved since you were a girl, but picking the dress that makes you want to twirl is still the right move. The Elisabetta Polignano beauty on the left, with a sheer Chantilly-lace and tulle skirt, is remniscent of a ballerina's tutu in all of the best ways. Prefer the dress on the right? The pearl and crystal garlands draped all over this body-hugging Monique Lhuillier will swing and sway with every step you take. 
 

The Details: Elisabetta Polignano "Mora" Gown, $3,300, elisabettapolignano.com. Monique Lhuillier "Samantha" Gown, $14,900, moniquelhuillier.com. Mateo New York Onyx Parallel-Bar Ring, $675, mateonewyork.com.

Advertisement
Advertisement