New This Month

These Modern Wedding Dresses Will Rock Your World

Every happy marriage starts with a strong foundation, then creates its own brand of beauty. The same can be said of these gowns, whose clean, sculptural shapes are embellished with one-of-a-kind details that set them apart. The results will rock your world.

Advertisement
Advertisement

Go Deep

You don't have to
get married in an eye-popping setting (like, say, this rural Vermont rock quarry) to bring the drama. With the plunging neckline and draped, bowed skirt of this Isabelle Armstrong gown your ensemble will do it.

 

The Details: (Above) Isabelle Armstrong Gown, $6,995, isabellearmstrongny.com. Cult Gaia "Amora" veil with freshwater pearls, $150, cultgaia.com.

Do the Wave

Play up your curves, and even add a few, with Sachin & Babi's wildly romantic "Natalia" dress, at left. The traditional strapless shape is both sweet, with a bow tied on the arm, and sultry, with a sweeping ruffle that shimmies as you walk.

 

And paging her royal highness, on the right. With its sweeping ball-gown skirt; fitted, belted bodice; and elegant cloth-covered buttons, Ellis Bridals' silk mikado dress is the picture
 of timeless chic. Its magic is in the simplicity of the cut, particularly the bateau neck-line, which brings all eyes up to your enchanting face.

 

The Details: (Left) Sachin & Babi "Natalia" dress, $2,695, sachinandbabi.com. Mani Maalai "Nebula" ear cuff and earring set, $180, cooperativasho.com. Ritani platinum solitaire diamond engagement ring (setting only), $585, ritani.com. (Right) Ellis Bridals silk Mikado dress, $1,869, ellisbridals.com. Gumuchian "Empire" platinum and diamond ring (setting only), $4,000, gumuchian.com.

Rose Bold

Who says the bride should 
be the only one blushing? The rusty-rose-quartz hue of Vionnet's satin gown will lend radiance to your skin, but the sexy slits in the plissé skirt will bring a flush to your spouse-to-be's cheeks as you stride toward the altar.

 

The Details: Vionnet satin gown, $6,100, vionnet.com.

Flower Power

The hand-cut floral appliqués on Mira Zwillinger's silk-tulle embroidered "Harper" gown are dainty; the bare back is daring. Together, they add up to a dress that's soft, sheer, and strong—stylistically speaking.

 

The Details: Mira Zwillinger "Harper" gown, $12,760, mirazwillinger.com. Cara Croninger clear faceted hoop earrings, $240, If Soho New York, 212-334-4964. Jack Kelége engagement ring set in 18k white gold (setting only), $3,950, jackkelege.com.

Wing It

A goddess? An angel? Guests won't be able to decide which you resemble most in Rosie Assoulin's off-the-shoulder billowing-sleeved "Fig" top and supple "Lily " skirt. The other thing they won't be able to do is take their eyes off you.

 

The Details: Rosie Assoulin "Fig" top, $2,895, and "Lily" skirt, $3,595, both Fivestory NYC, 212-288-1338. Alexis Bittar balanced spike kinetic clip earrings, $375, alexisbittar.com. Forevermark by A.Link illusion cushion ring, price upon request, forevermark.com. Sarah Magid "Sunset Duo" ring, $168, sarahmagid.com. Noir Jewelry "Clio" stackable ring set, $48, noirnyc.com.

Keep It Crisp

This cotton-and-silk taffeta gown by Carolina Herrera takes the timeless shirtdress to elegant new levels.

 

The Details: Cotton-and-silk taffeta gown, $4,490, carolinaherrera.com. Bionda Castana "Gia Ivory" calf leather and polka-dot lace high heels, $688, biondacastana.com. Gabriel & Co. 14k white gold "Fashion" earrings, 0.47 ct., $1,210, gabrielny.com.

Cool Column

At first glance, your guests will admire the stunning, sleek silhouette of Rosa Clará's silk-crepe gown. But a closer look at the details—peekaboo Valenciennes-lace inlays at the waist and neck, a floaty cape—reveals its full allure.

 

The Details: Rosa Clará gown, $4,115, rosaclarabridal.com. Alexis Bittar liquid-gold shield cuff, $795, alexisbittar.com.

Cloud Atlas

On your wedding day, 
the saying goes, you'll feel like you're walking on 
air. And in Rivini by Rita Vinieris's "Bernadetta" layered silk organza ball gown you'll look like it, too. The voluminous layered skirt seems to go on and on, lifting you to even greater sartorial heights.

 

The Details: Rivini by Rita Vinieris "Bernadetta" ball gown, $8,580, rivini.com. Monica Sordo "Silencio" necklace with 
24k gold and rhodium plating, $850, fivestoryny.com.

Sheer Genius

The A-line cut of the tea-length skirt at left is sharp, but the polka-dotted gossamer tulle of Houghton's "Avalia" dress is both soft and sexy—just like the bride who wears it. (Added bonus: The abbreviated length puts the spotlight on your to-die-for heels.)

 

And at right, a high neck and long sleeves give Naeem Khan's "New Mexico" dress a clean, classic silhouette. Thanks to sheer, gauzy fabric and ornate embroidery, it also has irresistibly romantic, bohemian flair.

 

The Details: (Left) Houghton "Avalia" dress, $2,450, houghtonnyc.com. Neil J. Rodgers "Isabella" Nero suede pumps, $650, neiljrodgers.com. Louven "Contour"
steel cuff, $150, louvendesign.com. Eddie Borgo "Voyager" cuff, in Gunmetal, $325, eddieborgo.com. Jennie Kwon Designs "East West" onyx ring in 14k yellow gold, $450, jenniekwondesigns.com. (Right) Naeem Khan "New Mexico" dress, $14,990, naeemkhan.com. Ca & Lou "Lyia Simple" earrings, $255, caandlou.com.

Flash of Brilliance

Steal the show in the most unconventional, unforgettable ensemble they've ever seen: Costarellos's "Cold Shoulder" top, which drops to reveal some skin before cascading down your arms in tiers, and a full, entrance-making tulle skirt.

 

The Details: Costarellos "Cold Shoulder" top, $1,145, and tulle skirt, $3,465, both costarellos.com. Nicole Miller "Resin Gear" white petal drop earrings, $125, nicolemiller.com.

Romancing the Stone

Oscar de la Renta's "Gwendolyn" silk-faille gown is a real gem, as sparkly as it is shapely, thanks to an embroidered-lace-and-sequin rose motif, a strapless sweetheart neckline, and a high-low overlay that reveals a tulle petticoat in front.

 

The Details: Oscar de la Renta "Gwendolyn" silk-faille gown, $14,890, Ever After Miami, 305-444-7300. Simon Alcantara handwoven sterling silver cuffs, $660 each, simonalcantara.com. Simon G. Jewelry 18k white gold climber earrings, $1,540, simongjewelry.com.

Suit Yourself

For the modern minimalist, a killer pair of pants can 
be a bolder, better choice than a ball gown or sleek skirt. Celebrate your style with Lela Rose's shimmer fil coupé strapless top and gabardine high-waist trousers, at left. Because you don't need a gown to be a knockout bride.

 

What keeps you warm, makes you feel amazing, and looks incredible next to your wedding gown? Your groom, of course. Also, Elizabeth Kennedy's long opera coat in double-faced scuba satin, at right. Wear it with an equally swank gown, like Roland Mouret's silk-faille "Abella", and you're black-tie-ready in any weather.

 

The Details: (Left) Lela Rose shimmer fil coupé strapless top, $1,995, and gabardine high-waist trousers, $1,295, Mark Ingram Atelier, 212-319-6778. Amy Nordström "Nave" sterling silver neck ring, $189, amynordstrom.com. Simon G. Jewelry 18k white gold three-finger ring, $3,520, simongjewelry.com. Marchesa "Valeria" pumps with laser-cut trim, $765, akh-grp.com. (Right) Elizabeth Kennedy long opera coat, $5,400, elizabethkennedy.com. Roland Mouret silk-faille "Abella", $5,670, rolandmouret.com. Yael Sonia spinning-top curve earrings in 18k yellow gold and quartz, $4,800, yaelsonia.com. Cara Croninger clear-and-black cuff, $700, Peipers & Kojen
New York, 212-744-1047.

Comments

Be the first to comment!

Advertisement
Advertisement